Month: July 2018

New Co-Author paper out now in SciTransMed: Inhibition of activin signaling in lung adenocarcinoma increases the therapeutic index of platinum chemotherapy

Posted on

Very exciting day to see this amazing work by the lab of Prof.Neil Watkins published in the prestigious Science Translational Medicine Journal.

A huge amount of work for a lot of very talented people over many many years went into this study, and hopefully it will result in significant improvements for the treatment of lung cancer patients using platinum based chemotherapies. You can access the fully article here [Link]

Platinum-based chemotherapy is a mainstay of treatment for lung cancer, but resistance to this therapy is a common problem, as are dose-limiting side effects, particularly kidney toxicity. To search for mechanisms that may contribute to treatment resistance, Marini et al. performed a whole-genome RNA interference screen and identified the activin pathway, which can be targeted. The authors demonstrated that inhibition of this pathway using a small molecule or a protein called follistatin can offer a dual benefit in that it potentiates the effects of platinum drugs in mouse models of cancer and also protects the animals from kidney damage. These findings suggest that activin inhibitors could be a valuable addition to platinum chemotherapy, enhancing the efficacy of treatment while also allowing the use of higher doses or longer periods of drug exposure.


New Co-Author paper: The E3 ubiquitin ligase UBR5 regulates centriolar satellite stability and primary cilia

Posted on


Great news, we have recently published a co-author paper in collaboration with Darren Saunders Lab entitled “The E3 ubiquitin ligase UBR5 regulates centriolar satellite stability and primary cilia”. The work was pioneered by a very talented student (now Doctor), Robert Shearer.


You can access the full article here [Link]

ABSTRACT Primary cilia are crucial for signal transduction in a variety of pathways, including hedgehog and Wnt. Disruption of primary cilia formation (ciliogenesis) is linked to numerous developmental disorders (known as ciliopathies) and diseases, including cancer. The ubiqui- tin–proteasome system (UPS) component UBR5 was previously identified as a putative posi- tive regulator of ciliogenesis in a functional genomics screen. UBR5 is an E3 ubiquitin ligase that is frequently deregulated in tumors, but its biological role in cancer is largely uncharac- terized, partly due to a lack of understanding of interacting proteins and pathways. We validated the effect of UBR5 depletion on primary cilia formation using a robust model of ciliogenesis, and identified CSPP1, a centrosomal and ciliary protein required for cilia forma- tion, as a UBR5-interacting protein. We show that UBR5 ubiquitylates CSPP1, and that UBR5 is required for cytoplasmic organization of CSPP1-comprising centriolar satellites in centro- somal periphery, suggesting that UBR5-mediated ubiquitylation of CSPP1 or associated cen- triolar satellite constituents is one underlying requirement for cilia expression. Hence, we have established a key role for UBR5 in ciliogenesis that may have important implications in understanding cancer pathophysiology.



Posted on

The Australian Cell Cycle Community

We are extremely excited to announce that ACCM 2019 will be on from June 17, 2019 – June 19, 2019
at the Powerhouse Museum in Sydney Australia.

The 2019 Meeting will be our biggest and best meeting ever, and we have already secured 3 outstanding plenary speakers:

Agnel Sfeir (Telomere Biology) [link]
– Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine, New York University, Langone Medical Center, USA

Roger A Greenberg (DNA Repair) [link]
– The Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, USA

Agata Smogorzewska (Genome Maintenance) [link]
– Rockefeller University, New York, USA

We will also be annoucing an outstanding line-up of International, National and Local speakers.

More information will be added very soon.

Hope to see you all there

The 2019 ACCM Organising Committee
Hilda Picket
Andrew Deans
Liz Caldon
Tony Cesare
Liz Hinde
Andrew Burgess
Harret Gee

View original post